

Accreditation Update

November 2020

Context: In 2014, the Accrediting Commision for Junior and Community Colleges (ACCJC) revised its standards and eligibility requirements. The ACCJC oversees colleges' compliance with Eligibility Requirements, Accreditation Standards, Commission Policies, and Federal Requirements. In addition to setting the benchmarks for institutional quality, meeting these requirements makes the college eligible to receive Title IV Federal Financial Aid.

Institutional Self-Evaluation Report (ISER): An important purpose of the ISER is to provide a written analysis of strengths and weaknesses of educational quality and institutional effectiveness based on the institution's continuous evaluation and quality improvement.

The ISER documents the institution's current and sustained compliance with Commission Standards. The Report includes improvement plans including timelines and outcomes for that work. Self-identified improvement plans will be integrated into planning processes of the institution for implementation and follow-up. This work is led by a steering committee, comprised of administrators, faculty and classified professionals.

Progress: We are presenting a working draft of the ISER. This draft has the College's responses to all of the accreditation standards and includes feedback received on the first draft. No major changes the College's responses to the standards are anticipated between this draft and the final document. Next steps include addition of front matter, formatting, line editing for consistency in voice, and other editorial tasks.

Steering Committee: The purpose of the Steering Committee is to serve the college as the guiding work team for gathering evidence in support of the college's capacity to meet and exceed accreditation standards, and to work together to develop plans for improvement if standards are not yet met.

Membership:

<u>Co-Chairs</u>--Accreditation Liaison Officer Pamela Ralston

Faculty Lead: Patricia Stark

Liz Auchincloss Beth Taylor Schott Elizabeth Imhof Lyndsay Maas JennyErika Barco Loren Mindell Raeanne Napoleon Dean Nevins Joshua Ramirez	Classified Professional Classified Professional Faculty/Administratio n Administration Faculty Classified Professional Faculty Administration Faculty	Z Reisz Luz Reyes-Martin Melanie Rogers Gwyer Schuyler Michael Shanahan Carola Smith Laurie Vasquez James Zavas	Administration Administration Classified Professional Faculty Administration Administration Faculty Administration
--	--	--	---